Chada!: A Trip to Northern Mindanao

 

A dance performance of Lumad children in an Eco-tourism part in Cagayan de Oro.

Personally, I dislike the term Lumad as it connotes non-Christian non-Muslim indigenous peoples living in Mindanao. In my view, there’s something wrong about categorizing people based on their religion. But at the moment, I don’t have anything else to call them so I’m going to use the name. I also kinda feel iffy that their culture is being commercialized but on the bright side, performing in front of tourists earn them a living. I also got something from the shops owned by an indigenous group from Bukidnon. I find it rather interesting as it has a very curious design. But no one could give me explanations about the inscribed artwork as the shopkeeper is not from the indigenous group that produced the artifact. Maybe I’ll look into it in the future. I’ll post a photo of the artifact tomorrow. I have no idea what it is. One of the children said it’s a pencil case, but I highly doubt that. I am sure, though, that it is a container of some sort.

Leave a Reply

